top of page

Classic Fiction



Jane Austen Volume 1: Pride and Prejudice, Mansfield Park and Persuasion

Jane Austen Volume 2: Sense and Sensibility, Emma and Northanger Abbey


The Classic Works of Henry James

This classic collection includes – The Portrait of a Lady, the Aspern Papers. Part of a beautiful series of classic fiction, this title brings Henry James back to life and reminds the world just what a wonderful writer he was.



Mary Shelley’s classic work, published when she was just twenty years old, tells the tale of eccentric scientist Victor Frankenstein, who creates a terrifying creature in an unorthodox scientific experiment. Inspired after a competition between Shelley, her husband Percy, Lord Byron and John Polidori to see who could write the best horror story, Frankenstein is in part a gothic novel and considered by some as one of the first forays into science fiction. The story takes place in the 18th century and has led to numerous spin-off works featuring ‘Frankenstein’s monster.’


The Hound of Baskervilles

The setting is Dartmoor in Devon, and Sir Charles Baskerville is dead. Somewhere out there, legend has it that a huge black hound is lurking on the moors, and it is up to Sherlock Holmes and his sidekick Doctor Watson to investigate the matter at hand. Originally serialised in The Strand magazine from August 1901 to April 1902, this well-loved tale will grip readers from start to finish.

The Classic Works of D. H. Lawrence

D.H. Lawrence is one of the greatest English novelists of the 20th century. He gained literary fame for his novels and poems which took a vigorous, new attitude towards personal relationships.Sons and Lovers, Lawrence’s first important novel, examines the emotional conflict in an ambitious young painter as he struggles to escape his mining background and is caught between intense devotion to his mother and a newly-aroused passion for two dissimilar women.Lawrence considered Women in Love his best novel, the story of the loves of two sisters Gudrun and Ursula charts a course of tempestuous passions descending, inevitably, into tragedy.Love Among the Haystacks is the short but powerful tale of rivalry between two brothers whose emotional confusion finds resolution one summer night after the Nottingham harvest.Lady Chatterley’s Lover is perhaps the most notorious novel ever written. This story of a passionate love affair between an aristocratic lady and her crippled husband’s gamekeeper was banned when it first appeared and the unexpurgated text published here was suppressed for a further thirty-two years.


The Complete Illustrated Works of Hans Christian Andersen

This storybook contains all the fairy tales of Hans Andersen, together with all the original illustrations.


The Classic Works of Charles Dickens: Volume 1: Oliver Twist, Great Expectations and A Tale of Two Cities 

Few writers have better captured the times they were writing in as well as Charles Dickens. Dickens’ ability to observe and record human character and environment have placed him at the top table of English fiction writers and his titles are still as popular today as they were upon first publication. In this collection you will find the tale of Oliver Twist, the orphan who Dickens used as a vehicle to highlight the unfairness of the Poor Law and the treacherous conditions of London slum life.In Great Expectations we are introduced to a vast of interesting characters whilst getting a study on class division and personal relationships.The third novel, A Tale of Two Cities, transports us to revolutionary France, where events fascinated Dickens’ social interests.

The Classic Works of Thomas Hardy: Tess of the D’urbervilles, the Mayor of Casterbridge and Far from the Madding Crowd 

Dealing with themes of determinism and inescapable fate, Thomas Hardy’s novels are also reknowned for depicting the intimate relationship between character and the environment. Unflinchingly honest in portraying characters and their fortunes, Hardy depicts life with all its harsh realities.Tess of the D’Urbervilles received negative reviews when first published in 1891. Originally criticised as being too pessimistic, it is now regarded as a classic. The story of Tess’s painful journey from girl to woman and her traumatic relationships with Alec D’Urberville and Angel Clare, is presided over by the unwavering hand of justice.The Major of Casterbridge recounts the life of Michael Henchard as he reaches the pinnacle of power, self esteem and self-satisfaction, only to lose it through folly and bad luck. The emotional rise and fall of Henchard is described with the greatest insight and sensitivity.Far from the Madding Crowd is the first of Hardy’s Wessex tales. It relates the story of Bathsheba Everdene and the men who love her. Set against the farming community, tragedy and love unfold alongside the continual struggle of rural life.


The Classic Works of the Bronte Sisters: Jane Eyre, Wuthering Heights and Agnes Grey

This collection brings together three pieces of work: Jane Eyre (Charlotte), Wuthering Heights (Emily) and Agnes Grey (Anne). The story of the Bronte sisters is surely unique in literary history.The most famous of them, Jane Eyre, is a deeply-felt, passionate story, based in part on Charlotte’s personal experiences, strong in situation and characterisation.Wuthering Heights, Emily’s only prose work, though bitterly attacked in its day, is recognised today as one of the greatest of English romantic novels.Agnes Grey, by the youngest sister Anne, is a moving and simply written story of a governess’s life, again based on her own unhappy experiences.

The Classic Works of Robert Louis Stevenson

From the adventures of Jim Hawkins in Treasure Island to The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde, Stevenson’s legacy of novels and adventure stories is considerable and filled with colourful characters and rich settings, making for exciting and compelling reads for adults and young readers alike.Treasure Island tells the tale of Jim Hawkins and his dramatic adventure involving bloodthirsty pirates and their sinister leader, Long John Silver, and has captured the imaginations of generations of young readers.Kidnapped, too, has all the ingredients of a classic adventure story. Set in the highlands of Scotland during the Jacobite rebellion its hero, Alan Breck Steward, fearless and romantic, is one of Stevenson’s most engaging characters.Weir of Hermiston, written in 1896, was left unfinished by Stevenson at the time of his death but contains some of this best writing. A vibrant story about the austere Scottish judge and his son, the novel displays the fruition of Stevenson’s narrative abilities.The Master of Ballantrae tells of the lifelong feud between Master Ballantrae and his young brother Henry. This novel in particular underlines Stevenson’s preoccupation with destiny and fate.The Black Arrow originally appeared in serial form and is a tremendously exciting adventure story in which the hero, Richard Shelton, fight for the Yorkists during the War of the Roses, encounters Richard III and an infamous band of archers who use the dreaded black arrows. The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde, tells of how a doctor creates a separate personality, evil in instinct and repulsive in appearance, through the use of a special drug he has discovered.


Jungle Book

Lose yourself in the world of Mowgli the man cub, the small boy abandoned in the Indian jungle, the tale of the heroic mongoose Rikki-Tikki-Tavi and the story of Toomai the young elephant handler along with many more in this rich collection of fables. Kipling’s work is full of important moral lessons and his vivid writing brings the sights and sounds of the jungle to life.

Buy all these books online at  ?


bottom of page